Cate Blanchett And Sally Nominated For Golden Globes, SAG Awards


Nominations are coming in thick and fast for Cate Blanchett, as award season kicks into high gear. In the last two days, she has been nominated for two major Awards – The Golden Globes and the Screen Actors Guild. Her Blue Jasmine co-star Sally Hawkins was also nominated for a Golden Globe.

Blanchett was also nominated for a Golden Globe in the category of Best Actress in a motion picture (drama). Her competition are:

Sandra Bullock (‘Gravity‘), Judi Dench (‘Philomena‘), Emma Thompson (‘Saving Mr Banks‘) and Kate Winslet (‘Labor Day‘).

Hawkins was nominated in the category of Best Supporting Actress in a motion picture. She is up against:

Jennifer Lawrence (‘American Hustle‘), Lupita Nyong’o (‘12 Years a Slave‘), Julia Roberts (‘August: Osage County‘, and also appeared in Allen’s Everyone Says I Love You) and June Squibb (‘Nebraska‘).

Other Allen alumni who are up for awards include Greta Gerwig (To Rome With Love), Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Deconstructing Harry), Meryl Streep (Manhattan), Leonardo DiCaprio (Celebrity), Liev Schreiber (Fading Gigolo), Helena Bonham Carter (Mighty Aphrodite), Michael J Fox (Don’t Drink the Water) and Sofia Vergara (‘Fading Gigolo‘).

Allen, of course, will also be the recipient of the Cecil B DeMille Award at the Golden Globes.

The Golden Globe Awards will be held on 12th January 2014.

What are Blanchett and Hawkin’s chances? Paddy Power has odds.

Blanchett seems are clear favourite woth odds at 2/7.
Hawkins however is the outisder in her category and 16/1.

Blanchett was also nominated for the Screen Actors Guild (or SAG) Awards in the category of Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role. She is up against:

Sandra Bullock (‘Gravity‘), Judi Dench (‘Philomena‘), Meryl Streep (‘August: Osage County‘) and Emma Thompson (‘Saving Mr Banks‘).

Others who’ve worked with Allen were nominated for various awards, including Julia Roberts (‘Everyone Says I Love You‘), Helena Bonham Carter (‘Mighty Aphrodite‘), Jeff Daniels (The Purple Rose Of Cairo), Alec Baldwin (Alice, ‘To Rome With Love‘), Mayim Bialik (‘Don’t Drink the Water‘) and Julia Louis-Dreyfus (‘Decosntructing Harry‘)

The SAG Awards will be announced on 18 January 2014.

You may also like

Leave a Reply